Music! (?)

IMG_1886A book I shall treasure always (along with a pamphlet that came with my triangle), by one of the pre-eminent kazooists in the world, Barbara Stewart. There is a wonderful YouTube video that illustrates perfectly the profound musicality of this under-rated instrument, in an introduction to the chamber group, Kazoophony.

I am not myself a skilled musician, but I did receive early training on this petite, yet versatile melodic form when, as a young boy, I played in an ensemble for my Sunday School’s Christmas pageant. We rehearsed many times before playing Rudolf the Red Nosed Reindeer in the church hall at St. Matthew’s Anglican in South Windsor, sometime around 1959 or 1960. I recall my parents’ appreciation of the work we put in when they showed up early one time to collect me from a rehearsal. I recall even now my father’s teeth biting his lips and his face going deep red in appreciation as all 15 of us played this seemingly simple, yet actually complex tune. The concert itself was a wild success before a full audience of parents and siblings, with much clapping and joyfilled laughter.

 

Leave a comment